The Importance of Celebrating Black Love – somedays

This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

3 min read

The Importance of Celebrating Black Love

The Importance of Celebrating Black Love

While 2020 was an important year for the fight in racial equality and upward social mobility, it was also incredibly difficult and traumatic. Black people had to watch their communities, families, and friends fight and suffer just for the right to be treated as equal citizens by the same institutions that swore to protect them.

I can personally speak to this and reflect on how at times I spent days unable to open my phone due to the images circulating online and nights unable to sleep because of those same images circulating in my head. 

At somedays, we know that sharing content discussing difficult topics that affects the Black community with the goal of starting conversations is crucial, such as the history of racism in gynecology campaigns we embarked on in partnership with Endo Black. We also know and understand the importance highlighting Black joy, love, and success. 

Our Black love editorial campaign was developed and created with this exact intention in mind. To showcase Black love in honour of Black History Month and Valentine’s Day but to be highlighted and shared well into the future.

We were striving to celebrate Black love in all of its glory and wonder by creating a series of photos that reflects this. We chose to design it around the 5 Love Languages: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time and Physical Touch for an added educational component.

Photo Series #1: Words of Affirmation 

Those with Words of Affirmation as their love language value encouragement, affirmation, appreciation, empathy via verbal, written, and digital communication. If this is your partner's love language leave them a note or send them a text telling them how much you appreciate them and encouraging them during their day. 

Photo Series #2: Acts of Service 

Those with Acts of Service as their love language value having helpful things done for them to make their lives a bit easier. If this is your partner’s love language is Acts of Service consider doing some chores for them, completing a task for them that they have been putting off or helping them with a project they have been working on.

Photo Series #3: Receiving Gifts 

Those with Receiving Gifts as their love language value being gifted something that is physical and meaningful and represents that their partner was thinking of them. If this is your partner’s love language, bring them small tokens that you think they will like that represent their values, likes or interests.

Photo Series #4: Quality Time 

Those with Quality Time as their love language value active time spent together with their partner without distractions. If this is your partner’s love language, carve out some intentional time with them as often as possible to be present with them and listen to them so they feel seen and heard. 

Photo Series #5: Physical Touch 

Those with Physical Touch as their love language value receiving physical signs of affection such as kissing, holding hands, and cuddling. If this is your partner’s love language consider trying to make physical contact with them as much as possible even if it’s just kissing them before they leave the house, touching their arm as they pass and always aiming to make intimacy a priority. 

With love,


Previous Article All Articles Next Article

All Articles

HTML code